Beauty · family · Fashion · Life · Make up · wedding

A week from today …

In a week we will be celebrating one year of marriage! Time flies when you’re having fun. I know most of you weren’t a part of that day so I thought I’d share some details about it. It was such a special day, everything went perfectly (yes, even with the rain) and our guests had a great time dancing, eating and celebrating with us.

To get you into the spirit here’s our wedding song that we had choreographed and rocked it on the dance floor!

You better be dancing!

We had our ceremony and reception at The Stone House at Stirling Ridge in Warren, New Jersey. I am not crazy about the typical wedding reception in ballrooms full of dark rugs, super fancy chandeliers l and marble floors. They’re beautiful but that just isn’t my style. When looking for a venue I knew that wasn’t the look I was going for because I wanted something rustic but romantic. When I came upon the Stone House my heart just knew it had to be there. It’s got the barn feel but it’s classy and elegant. The ceremony took place outdoors under a wooden gazebo so even if it rained, which is did, we could still have the ceremony outdoors. They have beautiful gardens that include a hall of mirrors outside. Because of the weather we weren’t able to take photo there or near the big fountain but thankfully our photographer (Photography by Orlando) found inspiration in other places.

ceremony real


Again, I wanted a rustic and romantic theme to our wedding. Our pallet was sage green, gold and ivory. My bridesmaids wore Sage dresses and gold jewelry with nude shoes and the groomsmen wore a light grey suit, off white shirt, brown shoes and the striped sage and gold tie to match the girls. They all looked so good! Peter wore a really nice light blue suite that he looked so handsome in!! His tie was solid sage and he wore brown shoes as well. So dreamy …

partypeter

Our centerpieces weren’t a traditional flower arrangement. I love flowers as you know but I also really love candles and I knew that candles would add romance so our centerpiece were beautiful ivory lanterns I found at Pier One Imports. Inside them was a candle and we placed them on top of tree trunk slices. My moms neighbor actually hand knitted the little accent cloth that was on each centerpiece and then my florist put some greenery and roses scattered brought the table. It was so dreamy…

deails

For the ceremony we also used the lanterns to decorate down the aisle and some rose petals. At the part where we stood I purchased 4 larger lanterns to put there and some wood slices. My florist was absolutely amazing, they were by far my favorite vendor for our wedding. Peter would send me flowers to work a lot and he’s always order them from Linda’s Florist in Short Hills and the bouquets were always so fresh and so so beautiful I knew I needed them for my wedding. I gave her the vision and she executed it so so well.

For example my bouquet … lets take a moment to appreciate this beauty … I wish it would last forever. It was beyond perfect. I wanted my bouquet and the bridesmaids to look natural. I kept saying to the florist that I wanted it to look like I went outside to the garden and picked it. And man … I loved it so so so so much!!!

View More: http://photographybyorlandocom.pass.us/sara--pedro-wedding

Our entrance table also had the lanterns and wood slices. I wanted it to be super earthy but romantic. I added some fun with the sign for guests to take their cards.

cakeThe cake was also perfect. It wasn’t anything spectacular again, I just love simple but elegant things. I don’t think you need to be super fancy to be beautiful. Our florist added flowers to the cake and made it so pretty. My cake topper was “To the Moon and Back” which is something we say to each other (gahh I know we are corny!!) it added a bit of personal touch.

The favors table was so pretty too. As a favor I gave wooden spoons that were dipped in gold glitter. Being Portuguese a wooden spoon is always needed whether your cooking or disciplining your child haha ..

The decor and the bridal party all just came together so beautifully. I loved it so so much. It was exactly how I invisioned.

Elegant – romantic – rustic


You thought I wasn’t going to talk about it right? Tricked ya!! Oh my dress … you dream about the day you find the dress your whole life. I tried on about 8 dresses total. I tried different styles even though I knew I wanted the style I got but I still wanted to see what I’d look like in a ballroom dress.  Everyone always talk about the moment you try on THEE dresses and you just know its the one. I wouldn’t describe it as this magical moment that you just feel it through your bones. For me, I really loved the dress and how it felt on me and how pretty it made me feel. the moment I realized that I liked it enough to “say yes to the dress” that’s when I got a bit teary eyed. The realization that this is actually happening, I am getting married, that’s the part where the feeling comes.

My dress was a soft mermaid silhouette dress that was all lace and had a removal little jacket that was stunning. The lace was very unique, like nothing I had ever seen before. It was an Allure dress Style: 2700. I really wish it wasn’t just the kind of thing you can only wear once. I wish it was accepted to wear your wedding dress to brunch or something.

Sara

Thank you for passing by! Stay tuned for wedding posts in the coming week!

 

Love, Sara

 

 

Leave a Reply

